NetSpeed Virtual: Repurposing classroom training for virtual learning

Advanced Virtual Facilitator Training: Leveraging Cognitive Principles for Superior Virtual Classroom Experiences

Advanced webinar delivery

Leverage the neuroscience of learning to design and facilitate extraordinary online learning experiences. Designed for virtual learning professionals who want to develop advanced virtual design and facilitation skills, the Advanced Virtual Facilitator Training course incorporates 12 brain-based learning principles (six for engagement and six for retention).

Limited to eight participants, the course is experiential, participatory, and hands-on. Facilitated by Cynthia Clay and Sherry Johnson-Metz, the course requires previous certification in a virtual facilitator course delivered by NetSpeed Learning Solutions (or a comparable virtual training course).

The course includes a combination of synchronous learning (using our Adobe Connect webinar platform) and asynchronous, self-paced online learning (at the NetSpeed Fast Tracks™ web site).

High-speed Internet access is required for completion of the program’s online exercises and participation in the webinars. A web camera is highly preferred, but not required.

Objectives

By the end of this six-week course, participants will be able to:

  • Incorporate brain-based engagement and retention principles in the blended virtual classroom (synchronous and asynchronous)
  • Evaluate virtual course designs to increase learner attention, engagement, and retention
  • Boost collaborative learning and on-the-job application in blended virtual courses
  • Audit any virtual course design to leverage the neuroscience of learning for maximum results
  • Apply facilitation practices to increase engagement and knowledge retention

What You’ll Experience

  • Two 90-minute web workshops modelling the virtual skills and practices
  • Online assignments integrating the 12 brain-based principles into your techniques
  • Hands-on coaching with a NetSpeed Learning Solutions Master Trainer
  • Experience designing a complete blended virtual course
  • Delivery of a 20-minute trainback experience
  • The opportunity to observe and give feedback to your peer professionals
  • Valuable feedback from your colleagues and the Master Trainer

Advanced Virtual Facilitator Training course Schedule

(updated November 8, 2018)

January/February 2018

Pre-webinar assignments begin on February 5, 2019 at the NetSpeed Fast Tracks web site, with assignments due by the first webinar one week later.

Times of Synchronous (Webinar) Learning Sessions:

Session

Topic Covered

Day/Date

Duration

Start Time

End Time

1

Web Workshop 1: Brain-based Learning Principles for Maximum Engagement

Tues, 2/12/19

90 minutes

1pm Eastern/
Noon Central/
10am Pacific

2:30pm Eastern/
1:30pm Central/
11:30am Pacific

2

Web Workshop 2: Brain-based Learning Principles for Maximum Retention

Tues, 2/19/29/19

90 minutes

1pm Eastern/
Noon Central/
10am Pacific

2:30pm Eastern/
1:30pm Central/
11:30am Pacific

3

Trainback Delivery (Observation and Feedback)

Tues, 3/5/19

5 hours

11am Eastern/
10am Central/
8am Pacific

4pm Eastern/
3pm Central/
1pm Pacific

Scheduled sessions will be confirmed when the course opens.